Home > Ramblings > The Haining

The Haining

April 21, 2008

At the recent nuptials of the Lovely Miss Molly and Sir John, I had the opportunity to rediscover one of my old favorites. Vodka Martini, sweet, with a twist. Since that weekend I’ve been craving them like mad. So today after a long and especially frustrating day of work, I made a quick stop at the liquor store and picked up some Grey Goose (my vodka of choice) and vermouth. After a couple of tries (isn’t experimenting with liquor enjoyable) I’ve recreated the mix to perfection.

2 shots Grey Goose Vodka
2 shots Sweet Vermouth
long thin twist of lemon

pour liquids over ice… shake vigorously… pour into a chilled martini glass.
Rub the lemon peel around the edge of the glass (very important) twist and drop in.

Since I’m going magnanimously claim that I invented this variation (which I probably didn’t) and because I drank many of them at Molly’s Father’s expense. I’m going to name it The Haining in his honor.

Categories: Ramblings
