Home > Ramblings > New year, new job.

New year, new job.

So it’s a new year and this is the obligatory ‘Beginning of the year’ post.  It’s been put off for a while because well I’ve been a bit busier than normal.  The main reason for that is that I’m a few days into a new job.  I’ve left AirDat for a sysadmin position at Glencoe Software.

Why did I leave?  There are a myriad of reasons, most best discussed over beer or scotch.  I liked AirDat and it was what I needed at the time.  I learned a lot about HPC and weather forecasting and worked with some really cool, really smart people.  Ultimately I got to the point where I needed to have some different challenges and be more involved in some of the decisions that were being made.   I wish those guys the best I really hope they succeed, they have some killer technology that could prove to be really useful if they can get everything to fall into place.

At Glencoe I will be their sysadmin supporting not only the corporate endeavors for our products but also supporting and working on the OME and it’s other open source projects.  It’s exciting to get back into the open source world, as well as dive into the informatics world and the challenges that lie within.

Another big change with the move to Glencoe is that I’m now working from home full-time.  I’ve converted part of my house to a home office and the family and I are trying to adjust to this as well as me working closer to UK/GMT time.  It’s something I’ve been wanting to do for some time and I’ve finally got the opportunity and plan to make the most of it.

 

Categories: Ramblings Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

